Please wait, the search may take up to a minute...

Hurray! 🎉 We have launched in Australia! 🦘🐨🇦🇺 Visit
Code: BFT2022

Rumi   

In shelter Dog

Winnipeg, MB, R2M 2K2
Pet name:
Rumi
Gender:
Female
Breeds:
German Shepherd Dog
Date:
07/28/2022
Colors:
Black
Size:
Large
Age:
Adult
Coat length:
Short
Description:
Available: Now 
Age: 4 years 
Size: Large (60-75lbs) 
Energy: Moderate 
Gender: Female 
Breed: Shepherd/Lab X 
Notes: Needs Calmer dogs, Dog Savvy Cats 

Adoption fee: $375 (view what’s included at www.manitobaunderdogs.org/adoptionfees) 

Hello! Please let me introduce myself as Rumi; a sweet, loyal and hug-able partner seeking my forever home. I came to the folks at Manitoba Underdogs Rescue when I needed some ‘fixing’ up and recovery time to get me back into ‘top dog’ shape. When I came into care, I was diagnosed with Lyme and Heartworm and some incontinence issues but I have gotten the all clear and am ready to go! 

I have been living with my foster family for a while and I have been practicing and learning the finer points of dog life and city living. I don’t require a crate as I can be trusted when I am alone. I have definitely outgrown the puppy stage which makes it so much easier to care for me. 

I am house trained and have been working on my leash skills. I know I require more practice to control my excitement when I encounter dogs, squirrels and those sorts of things on walks. I am told I am making big improvements. I think going to obedience classes would help me further refine my ‘run-way’ walk. I like to brag that since I have fully recovered, I have run with humans on a leash and foster mom says that I am born to run! I also know sit, stay, down and leave it. I live with a small human and I just savour the time with the little one. My favourite things are belly rubs and snuggling up with my foster family. I am a bit selective with dogs, as I prefer more mature calm canines as partners. I live with 2 cats and we get along fine, but would need some help from you when meeting new feline friends so that we can set proper boundaries. 

It has taken me awhile to be comfortable, but I have now moved up on the couch to sit with my little human, as it is just the best place to be. I am on regular medication to control my leaky bladder, which has made the world of difference. Foster family says I am the calmest partner in the house, but don’t let that fool you as I am just full of energy and ready for action as soon as I go outside. I ‘dog dream’ of a family where I can take adventures, go for a run, hike or maybe ski in the snow. 

I know my forever family is just waiting for me, just like I am waiting for you. Apply to meet me soon! 

Apply to adopt me: www.manitobaunderdogs.org/adopt/adoption-application. 

PLEASE NOTE: Because we do not have a public shelter, an adoption application must be filled out in order to be approved to meet any of our animals available for adoption. No exceptions. Serious inquiries only.
Manitoba Underdogs Rescue inquiry@manitobaunderdogs.org

Location


  1. American Humane Association
  2. Peeva
  3. American Veterinary Medical Association
  4. Veterinary Information Network
 
FindpetTM is a Participating Pet Recovery Service Registry for the AAHA Universal Pet Microchip Lookup Tool. AAHA provides an internet-based application that enables veterinarians, humane organizations, pet owners or other persons to search various Pet Recovery Service registries and identify those registries on which a particular microchip is registered. AAHA is not affiliated or involved with any specific microchip registry and has no relationship, financial or otherwise, with this Participating Pet Recovery Service Registry ("Registry"). This Registry has given AAHA permission to search the Registry's database in order to assist pet owners in being reunited with their pets. AAHA does not maintain a database of microchips of its own. It only links to registries such as this one. The AAHA Universal Microchip Lookup Tool only searches the databases of companies that elect to participate in the program.