Please wait, the search may take up to a minute...


In shelter Dog

Kennesaw, GA, 30144
Pet name:
Flat-Coated Retriever
A SWEET, ACTIVE & PLAYFUL GUY:  Approx. 6 years / Approx. 40 lbs.  

Hello, I’m Alex!  I came to Mostly Mutts from animal control, and I am so grateful that they have taken me into their program so I can find a new family to love and be loved by!  I got to spend some time in the prison/foster training program off site and had fun as well as learned a lot!  I was adopted for a few weeks, but they realized I needed more exercise than they could provide. 

• OTHER DOGS/CATS/KIDS:  I’ve recently met other dogs at Mostly Mutts and liked them, so – if you have a nice doggie at home already, let’s meet! / Cats unknown. / I met nice kids around 10 years old at Mostly Mutts and liked them, but I was just a little mouthy and jumpy when we played. A home with kids ages 10 and up could be a good fit for me, so let’s meet and best no toddlers that I may bump over.

• PERSONALITY/ENERGY LEVEL:  I am a super sweet and affectionate fellow with a very active nature who wants to be very active with my family!  I’m a real people dog and have great focus – which is wonderful for my continued training.  I am a masterful high jumper, so best not to leave me unattended in a yard.  Perhaps we can learn agility together for fun!  One of the nice volunteers said I’m a happy and goofy boy . . . his 11-year-old son even specifically requested to take me out for a second trip . . . sounds like a ringing endorsement to me! I’m showing some possible separation issues so I’d love a family member that is home a lot, perhaps a stay-at-home or work-from-home person that I could hang out with.  I think I’d also be a good candidate for doggie daycare which sounds fun to me! / My energy level is very high at 9-10.

• SKILLS/CRATE/POTTY:  I’m a proud graduate of the Mostly Mutts University training program so I’ve learned the ‘sit’, ‘stay’, ‘down’, ‘come’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’ and ‘place’ commands.  I also use proper door etiquette and have good leash manners as well as accept nice strangers without jumping.  / My crate manners are good at Mostly Mutts and in the prison/foster training program. / My potty manners have been good on the prison/foster training program schedule.

• LIKES/DISLIKES:  I like toys (especially tennis balls and stuffed toys) and love to play, so I look forward to lots of play sessions with you.  A fenced yard would be great in my new home, but I like to dig holes, so – as mentioned above, don’t leave me there unattended.  I like to splash in my water pail so maybe I’m a water dog in the making, lol.  I enjoy getting affection and will reward you with nice kisses.  I also enjoy walks, so let’s go lots of places together and of course be active! / I can’t think of any dislikes, though I’m sure I wouldn’t like it if I didn’t get enough love, attention, exercise, and training.

• MEDICAL:  I’m current on vaccinations, micro-chipped and neutered.  I came in with a little hair loss on my backend (likely from flea allergies), but it’s growing in nicely now, so please keep me current on flea prevention. I’ve just started medication for some separation anxiety, so just ask for more information about that. 

I am looking for a home where I will be a much-loved member of the family!  My adoption fee is $299.00, and I’m located in Kennesaw, Ga.


All microchips registered with Findpet can be traced internationally through the American Animal Hospital Association’s (AAHA) universal pet microchip lookup, ensuring your pet's safety at home or during travel.